cooking vegan once a week #1 – root beet salad with tangerines and walnuts

beetsalad

Actually I wanted to start the new year with vegan versions of my favorite animal product dishes. But when I found this recipe of a root beet salad on Ashley’s blog, I really needed to try it before starting my own experiment.

I had root beet before a few times, but I never ate it in a salad. And even if I like the combination of sweet and sour a lot, I am very careful with it in my own cooking. But I could imagine the acid of the tangerines and the sweetness and earthiness of the beets.

So here we go with my version of Ashley’s recipe: Peel some beets, cut it into little pieces, put those into a pan with some olive oil. Add some walnuts, saute everything, add some salt and vegetable stock. Peel the tangerines, put the slices into a bowl, add some fresh parsley. Take the beets from the oven, let them cool down and add them to the bowl. Salt, black pepper and olive oil to taste. Done.

It is oh so delicious. Really! You have to try it!

PS: Since last summer I am challenging myself to cook vegan at least once a week. Vegan rice pudding and vegan chili are my latest recipes.

2 thoughts on “cooking vegan once a week #1 – root beet salad with tangerines and walnuts

Leave a Reply

