cooking vegan once a week #8 – pasta with sausage goulash

wurstgulasch

This actually is my very favorite meat pasta dish. I could eat it every day. And then twice a day. Unfortunately, the secret behind this recipe is the sugar, as I found out awhile ago. So don’t read further, if you are not sugar-friendly. Well, I am. ;-)

So with loving this meal so much I was a bit concerned if I would find a vegan option. But luckily I did. There are vegan Wieners that have the taste and consistency of the real ones. Actually, they are even better, ’cause they’re not that oily.

This food is a pretty common one in East-Germany and I think I was the very last person around here that figured out how to make it (It was a year ago!). But just in case you’re not from here or don’t know how to prepare this sauce for any other kind of reason, here is the short recipe: You’ll need a shallot, some vegan Wieners, sieved tomatoes, tomato paste, veggie stock, salt, pepper, garlic, and sugar. Saute the shallot, the garlic and the Wieners. When everything is slightly burned, add the veggie stock (1 table-spoon in one glass of warm water), add about one glass of sieved tomatoes and three table spoons tomato paste and let everything cook for a view minutes. Then add the salt, pepper and sugar. As much as you want. Done. That’s it. Enjoy! :-)

PS: You want to know how vegan cabbage roulades look like? Click here. Besides that I ate vegan Bratwurst and Soljanka in February.

Picture credits: FERVENT DOTS

Leave a Reply

