pictured // the magpie’s way of building a home # 2

magpie5      magpie6

magpie7      magpie8

So here we go with the second round of my how the magpie’s build their home posts. Yeah, I know what you are thinking. I said they were busy, but compared to last week’s pictures, not much happened in this tree. Yeah, this is what it looks like, but there happened a lot of things behind the scenes.


what happened? 

The nest that was about that far that the magpies might have considered having a topping out party got destroyed. Many times. Actually every day. By my neighbors. But the magpie couple came back. Also every day. And restarted building it. And what did I? Well, I am a bit too ambitious when I see any kind of injustice happens. And so I first watched my neighbors from above destroying the nest with a construction of their broomstick and a branch extension. They could only reach as far as it was necessary, but carefully they picked each little twig like when they were playing Mikado. Well, ask my man, I got very angry. Then I contacted the NABU, our nature protection association for help. They said it is a common behavior, ’cause many people think, magpies are messengers of misfortune. My man and I decided to write a friendly letter to our neighbors, asking to stop destroying this nesting, also because magpies are protected under nature conservancy over here and destroying any kind of nest is a criminal offense. Well, a few days later we met in the staircase and had a nice talk. They just said they don’t want to not being able to use their balcony during the summer, which they would do to protect the brood. If they would use their balcony anyway, so their point, the magpie parents might feel disturbed and leave their little ones so they would die.

Okay. Nice point. But destroying their nest in advance to protect them. I don’t know.

Well, after all, they stopped their actions. What made me feel very happy. And so my picture story continues. :-)


magpie fact #2

Only in German mythology (and partly in European countries such as Ireland and France) magpies are hoodoos, but in Asian mythology they are signs of good luck. And Indians (Native Americans) even believe they are friendly spiritual beings.


PS: This is when it’s started.

2 thoughts on “pictured // the magpie’s way of building a home # 2

Leave a Reply

