visiting // modern weimar

G&S

Hellohellohello! With a slight delay ;-) I am back from summer break.

So first of all, I left the city for a few days to visit … Weimar.

Yeap. The world-famous town in Thuringia that is known for anything classical (such as writers/poets like Goethe and Schiller). Actually, I place not that interesting for me (since I’ve had way too much of those back in school).

But I was looking for a short-distance destination where I can go easily by train (because I love riding the train). I also wanted to go to Thuringia, because that is where I spent every summer back in my childhood days and I’d started to miss that over the years. So when I came across a fantastic little hotel to stay for a few days, Weimar was the deal for this year’s summer vacation.

So here is a short summary what I discovered in Weimar that might be modern-style, hip, and interesting for you.

I stayed at Familienhotel Weimar, a hotel completely made out of wood and built in 2012. The rooms were very comfy and had minimalistic furniture (e.g. the tv hidden behind a blackboard) and almost smelled that good like a Finnish sauna. On the roof top was a small garden-like terrace where you could sit and chill all day long. It was located right next to all of the classical sights but in a very small alley which made it a very beautiful spot to stay.

// foryoursoul:

Gretchens: This is the restaurant on the first floor of this small hotel. I really liked the food they served and, in fact, it was the first time I really enjoyed risotto (that was made with peas and fresh mint).

Franz & Willi is a newly opened place for burger, but I for myself enjoyed their fried sweet potatoes.

San: I haven’t had a chance to eat at this Korean place since I was already full (from a pizza snack), but I really regretted not going there earlier, ’cause the place looked very welcoming.

Suppenbar Estragon: This is an organic soup bar that I, unfortunately, spotted the last night I was there when it was closed already.

// foryourears:

Ilmpark: There is this huge and beautiful park right next to all the sights and the hotel where I stayed. And there, you can listen to the river Ilm that splashes through some kind of hilly terrain, underneath various bridges and along huge cottonwood trees. A beautiful and chilly place to go in the early morning hours.

Roxanne: If you love Metal, this bar, located at the marketplace, is made for you. I am not a Metal fan at all, but it was nice to see some alternative people and to have some good drinks too.

// foryoureyes:

Bauhaus museum: This is a very nice little location for fans of this era. It’s only one floor and really not big, but if you want to see some cool and about a hundred years old interior design (e.g. different chairs), it’s the place to be.

ACC: I didn’t make it to this gallery, but it is on my list for the next visit.

Giardino: This is the most amazing pizza place I have ever seen. Really, if you are in Weimar, you should go there. They have a huge and beautiful garden and an outdoor kitchen that looks awesome at night. But really, it’s only worth looking, the menu is not that fancy at all and it’s pricey too (and, therefore, some kind of a tourist trap).

// foryourmind:

schauschau: This little shop sells clothing and bags and accessories made by little manufacturers in and around Weimar that use organic fabrics.

Arthographie-Werkstatt: If you like minimalistic and maybe 1950s-like looking stationery, go there. At least, that is what I spotted there and I am glad the shop was closed, ’cause otherwise I would have spent a looot of money.

So with my focus on these things my short stay in this beautiful city of Weimar was really amazing. Have you ever been to Weimar and if so, what are the places you enjoyed while being there? Since I am planning to go back to Weimar some day, what places and things should I see?

Leave a Reply

