my very first own book // york & pegasus

Y&P

I have to admit something. I wasn’t completely honest with you when I said, this was the first book I wrote…

When I was twelve years old I wrote my very first book to give it to my grandma for her 75th birthday. It was a full story about a little girl and her pet friends experiencing big adventures and true emotions. I also illustrated the prototype with colorful pictures and added a few black and white photographs to make the story seem more realistic. In the end, this little book was a huge success and brought a big smile on every reader’s face, ’cause, you know, twelve-year-olds can make unintentional but funny mistakes.

I remembered this book a few months ago when I was asked to help twelve-year-old Ole to proofread, illustrate and publish his very first manuscript that turned out to be a bestselling book around his school mates and friends. It was a very fun experience and with today’s possibilities a pretty easy job to do as well, so I was thinking it would be nice to also have my own very first book published as a real book but with all the authentic writing of a child to maybe encourage kids to tell their stories the way they want to tell them. So I went through my own manuscript as I did with Ole’s: I kept all of the original writing, just deleted a few misspellings and draw a cover picture. And with the help of my dear man I put everything together in a 1980s’ design (since the first edition is from 1987) and … published it.

So here it is, York & Pegasus: Eine ungewöhnliche Freundschaft (York & Pegasus – A Unique Friendship), my actual first own book. 

Have fun reading and enjoy fall season!


PS: With the creation of this book, of course, came another idea I will tell you sometime soon. :-)

2 thoughts on “my very first own book // york & pegasus

Leave a Reply

