snack time // polenta pemmican

NativeFood

About a decade ago, I bought the cookbook Native Food by Beverly Cox and Martin Jacobs. But before I came around to try the first recipe, my cats decided to use it for their own … let’s say entertainment. After that, there was not much left of a cookbook I wanted to work with. And then I figured out, this book is not available anymore.

Until … a few weeks ago when I found a used (but in pretty good shape) one.

Long story short: This polenta pemmican is the first recipe I tried. The book says to use corn powder or flour, but I only had polenta that gave the whole snack a crispy kind of feeling. I googled corn pemmican or wagmíza wasná as the Lakota people call it, and all the pictures I found showed a completely different food. I never had corn pemmican before, so I don’t know if I am close to it or even allowed at all to call my creation pemmican… But whatever I prepared, it was delicious in its very own way. And therefore, you’ve got the recipe. ;-)


POLENTA PEMMICAN

You will need for 16 pieces:

250 g polenta or corn flour (if you want to make it the traditional way)

125 g raisins or any other dried berries

225 ml water

65 g raw sugar

225 ml melted butter

And here is how to make it in 10 minutes:

Preheat your oven to 175 degrees.

Put the polenta or corn flour into a flat pot and roast it for about 30 minutes in the oven until it is light brown. You should mix it every now and then to make sure it doesn’t get burnt.

Put your dried berries into some water, leave it there for a couple of minutes. Pour off the water and mix the berries with the polenta or corn flour and sugar.

Add the melted butter, mix everything well.

Then put your polenta pemmican into a square baking pan. Press it into shape and put it into your fridge until it is cooled and almost frozen. Then you can cut it into little portions.

Enjoy and have a fun weekend! :-)

Leave a Reply

