baking // my grandma’s applie pie — traditional & christmas-ish

GrandmasPie

Actually I am a well-organized person. Until it comes to my cookbook section. Compared to another book genre, I have a lot of them and actually only need one or two. I also have loose pages from magazines with recipes I never tried and little scraps of paper that only say ..,50 gr flour and…

So one day I decided to tidy that chaos up. And to my own surprise, it turned out to be a real treasure trove, that somehow made me very happy. I found machine-typed and hand-written recipes of the closest family members, that went to the spirit world many years ago and that I miss very much every single day. I am not sure if I ate all of these dishes when I was a kid, but I definitely remember the apple pie my grandma made (and its variations with plums and sour cherries too), ’cause I was the one that had to cut out the stones (with this magical cherry-stone-removing-tool) and to check the fruits for worms. I also remember my grandma giving me instructions how to make the perfect crumbles, which actually was the best part of preparing these pies.

For me reading my grandma’s handwriting, recalling her instructions while baking, and eating her delicious pie is like time traveling to one of the best places I have ever been to in my entire life. So if you would like to get an idea of how that feels, here’s the best and probably easiest apple pie recipe you’ve ever had. :-)


GRANDMA’s APPLIE PIE

You will need:

250 g flour

175 g butter

1 egg + 1 egg yolk

1 TBS baking powder

1 TBS vanilla sugar

100 g raw sugar

2 apples

1 cup raisins

And here is how to make it in 30 minutes:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees.

Wash and peel the apples. Remove the kernels and cut the apples into thin slices.

Mix the flour and baking powder using a sieve, stir everything together, then move them together to a wreath. Put the egg, the egg yolk, the sugar and vanilla sugar in the middle of this wreath, add small pieces of butter bit by bit and gradually add the flour mixture from the edge.

When the dough is even, roll 3/4 of it out on a baking sheet in a flat pan and top it with these apple slices.

Use the other 1/4 to make crumbles. Sprinkle those crumbles and the raisins on top of the pie.

Bake everything for about 45 minutes until the dough is golden brown.

Enjoy!


In my opinion, this cake is a good substitute in case you are looking for an option to all the traditional Christmas cookies and Stollen. So to make this recipe a bit more christmas-ish, just add a bit cinnamon, orange zest or gingerbread spices to either the dough or on top of the apples before baking.

Have a great first advent! :-)

One thought on “baking // my grandma’s applie pie — traditional & christmas-ish

Leave a Reply

