female authors // an actress + a musician + a comedian + an organizing consultant

BOOKS2016I

The books I have been reading lately somehow are all written by women. Here are the ones I can highly recommend:

Lena Dunham: Not That Kind Of Girl: It took me some time to like the TV show Girls that is written by Lena Dunham. But now I can’t wait for the next season to begin and meanwhile I enjoyed reading this autobiographical book. Just like in the series, Lena Dunham tells very intimate things about herself and her life in a very pure and honest but also pretty funny tone.

My favorite quote is from the chapter “17 Things I Learned from My Father”: “All children are amazing artists. It’s the grown-ups you have to worry about.”

Björk: This is a very beautiful book of the amazing musician, Björk. It is from 2001 and contains texts Björk and others have written and pictures of Björk that were taken by different photographers. The book was created in collaboration with the Paris-based design label M/M and it’s more like an artwork itself than just a usual book.

My favorite quote is from the chapter “A Call Of The Wild, a conversation with Sir David Attenborough”. Björk says, “I have this romantic idea that I am an animal because I don’t think humans are any different from animals.”

Mindy Kaling: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?: Watching Mindy in her shows is hilarious and so was reading her book. I literally read it having her high and fast speaking voice in my head. She tells interesting things about her life and career and gives some background info about the shows she is/was writing for. 

My favorite quote is from the chapter “When You’re Not Skinny, This Is What People Want You to Wear”: “Poncho: Nothings says ‘English is not my first language’ like me in a poncho.” 

Marie Kondo: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying: This wasn’t the first book I read on decluttering, creating a more simple lifestyle and letting go. But then I was thinking, despite the fact I certainly wouldn’t learn anything new, a little refreshing of some aspects would be a good motivation before starting the actual work. Surprisingly I learned new things, mostly ways how to fold my clothes. And they do work! Actually, I was thinking I am a minimalist already (compared to others), but after three days of KonMari, I still had several huge plastic bags and boxes with stuff to let go or to give away or for donation. 

My favorite quote: “Keep only those things that speak to your heart.”

Have fun reading!

Leave a Reply

