the big issue // why i love leipzig

The Big Issue – Corina Retzlaff.JPG

I didn’t know this magazine until Malcolm Jack, journalist for the The Big Issue, reached out to me this summer asking if I can tell Why I love Leipzig for a small column about city breaks. After doing some research I learned that The Big Issue is an international street newspaper (“the world’s most widely circulated street newspaper”), written by journalists and sold by homeless people to give them the chance to earn some money and to integrate them into society. I knew about a similar street magazine we have here in Leipzig as well and liked the idea to write for a good cause, so I decided to go for it.

Although I know many places that are worth a visit in LE, it was very hard to name specific ones because there are so many cool places I would love to recommend. But then, one place I knew I had to name for sure. It is the Monument to the Battle of the Nations. I have been there so many times, but every time I come back to this huge and impressive building it takes my breath away. Still. And I do not mean it’s breath-taking after walking up the hundreds and hundreds of stairs. That sure is but I usually don’t do that. I can just stand in front of it and watch it. It’s just awesome.

And, well yeah, since I love being in nature and most of my life is about art, I had to list places for these things as well for a good Leipzig mix. In the end, I also decided to mainly name those three things not only because they are significant, partly alternative and show a bit of history and present time as well. I also went for these attractions because they are affordable and inexpensive or even for free which makes them perhaps interesting for people with little money as well. Maybe…

So, now I would like to know: Why do you love Leipzig (in case you have been here already)?

Leave a Reply

