starting a challenge – vegan food

BeansSoup

I am having a hard time trying to not eat any meat at all. I don’t want to for ethical reasons, but sometimes I am really craving it. So I started to buy only organic meat a few years ago, ’cause the farm from where I get it has really high standards. They really seem to care for their cows and pigs. Plus, it is a bit expensive, so I don’t eat meat that much. But still, I eat it once a week, so I guess I am a flexitarian right now.

I also started to bring my own cheese and veggies to barbecues (what makes me a strange person within the family, that is full of meat lovers). But then I smell the roasted meat and somehow I at least need to try it. Actually, it doesn’t taste that nice.

And not to think about all the good visits at restaurants I enjoy so much

So I was thinking to challenge myself to cook at least one vegan food a week. I mean, I do have vegetarians and vegans among my friends, but I really want to know by myself how to cook a vegan meal without that piece of butter or teaspoon creme cheese that I like to add. And I think, if I know how to cook vegan meals, it might be easier to become a full vegetarian some day.

As for the picture: This is my first challenge meal. (So I am done for this week, now I am allowed to cheat, haha. No, I am kidding…) It is soup out of vegetable stock, potatoes, green beans and a tomato. Some olive oil, pepper and salt. One onion. Thats it. No, wait, I used some fresh herbs: rosemary and savory. (This is another good thing: I will get to know more herbs. It was the first time I used fresh savory.)

I have had less meat during this summer. Less fat, actually. And I need to say, I already feel more healthy, more fit and less tired. Feels good. :-)

PS: Once I cooked vegan by accident. It turned out good, as you can see here. This one was followed by another so-called accident. I guess, cooking by heart (and not thinking about it) leads me to veggies. We’ll see… ;-)

16 thoughts on “starting a challenge – vegan food

  1. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of
    your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in
    my social networks!

    1. Thank you so much! I feel very honored. It really feels good to share cultural and a bit personal things that are important to me and get in touch with people having similar interests. Actually, I am nominated twice by now. So I guess I really need to post about that very soon. ;-)

  2. Good for you! I have been a vegetarian for 21 years. That’s why I wear gloves when I prepare meat :). I have several vegan recipes I’ll be posting in the future. Your soup looks delish!

    Have a great day.

    Love, L.

  3. Looks yummy! I cook and eat meatless most of the time too. But I have a hard time sticking to ot when I’m out and about or at family gatherings. Flexitarian? Is that a thing? If yes, I guess I am that. :D

Leave a comment